Go long

Originally prepped to go live on August 29, 2010, this post fell under the wheels of a fast-moving fortnight that saw me complete a contract here in downtown Toronto and accept a job offer in Mexico.

The one-year anniversary of this blog was supposed to also mark its completion.

In the original draft I imagined August 29 to August 29 as a perfect circle, like a ball. It was a natural metaphor for a blog about soccer and community. So what does the inconvenient addition of these extra 15 days do to my analogy? It makes my ball a little flawed, slightly misshapen – just like its imaginer.

In the end, I think I’m alright with the addition of a little chaos. People and communities and games of soccer all somehow remain great and complete despite their asymmetry. It’s time for me to wind up and send this imperfect ball long.

I’ll see you all at the next match.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

