Cape Town, yes; Evan, no

Remember Evan? Well he’s dead to me.

Dead to me?

Dead to me?

No, not really. How could you hate this face? But unfortunately he is unable to drive the Garden Route with me, so I have made a new plan. On October 9 I am flying on my new favourite airline 1time.co.za to meet up with Craig’s friend Mike, from Cape Town. I will stay with Mike for the weekend, and Craig will join us on Sunday. We’ll explore Cape Town until Thursday October 15, when we’ll fly back to East London.

We are planning on visiting Boulders Beach where there is a penguin colony, including a healthy population of Jackass penguins (so-called for the braying noises they make). I may have found my new term of endearment for lovely Lady Kennaway. Speaking of penguins and the Kennaway, the East London aquarum is across the street from us, featuring an outdoor penguin cage. It houses 20 or 30 of the most depressed-looking penguins I have ever seen. I went and poked my head over the rail to see them, and there they were, vacantly staring into the corners, motionless. We are considering an effort to set them free. I am not sure if I have ever seen anything as forlorn as a depressed penguin.

It stared into the corner the entire time I was there.

It stared into the corner the entire time I was there.

Update: as it turns out, there is indeed a vision as forlorn as a depressed penguin, and conveniently, it is located at the very same aquarium.

White Pelican...in a cage overlooking the Indian Ocean. There are two of them in there.

White Pelican...in a cage overlooking the Indian Ocean. There are two of them in there.

Also on the agenda for Cape Town is a shark dive. Apparently you can submerge in a shark cage (DANGER!) off the coast of Cape Town without a SCUBA license (DANGER!): sounds like an irresistible double dose of African DANGER.

I am excited, and also sincerely hope to cross paths with Evan again. Evan – when you are ready to continue our conversation about bringing open source to the South African school system, contact me.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cape Town, yes; Evan, no

  1. Kelly

    I’m killing myself. No scuba training, and they’ll put you in a cage with sharks. So when the sharks come to slice your air line, you have no chance of getting away.

    Sounds like a shark feeding trip to me! AAAGH run away.

Leave a Reply

