Nahoon Beach to Bonza Bay

In the meantime, Craig and I decide to explore the local beaches. We pack towels, beer, and some fruit in a bag. We crawl up a sand dune and settle in. Craig opens his Tupperware and grabs a lemon slice which he squeezes into his hair. “The sun will naturally lighten it!” he says brightly, and it takes me back to the days of Sun-In, which reminds me of being what is now called a tween. I can remember the pain of not being able to get a good feather going in my straight hair. Oh, the humanity. I take a lemon wedge and rather sloppily rub it all over my head, which I instantly regret because I get the juice on my fingers – a sensation that’s up there with dusty newsprint on my fingertips for least favourite. Plus we’re on a dune so sand is caking between my fingers. We have no water. I have to wash my fingers in beer (let them eat cake!) and we sit back and take in what looks like the fuzzy edge of the planet that you see in photos taken from space. The sky here is very big and I feel very, very lucky.

Craig takes this panoramic video, which will show you the splendor of Nahoon Beach, and tell you all you need to know about our friendship.

We decide to go check out Bonza Bay Beach which has the best signage for beach dos and don’ts I have ever seen.

No laundry and no boobs are my favourites.

No laundry and no boobs are my favourites.

They also have an outstanding shark information board that is laughably verbose (how many minutes do they think people will have to read it before they lose consciousness?)

"...elevate good legs..."

"...elevate good legs..."

It is windy everywhere in this country but Bonza Bay steps it up notch. We get real dunes here, full of drama.

Dude on a dune.

Dude on a dune.

See the sand whipping off the peaks? I was so taken with the way this looked that I raised my lens, fully extended, right into the eye to get this shot. Was very nearly a costly mistake but Lumix is a sturdy brand that withstood the slapping required to dislodge a pint of sand from within the mechanism.

See the sand whipping off the peaks? I was so taken with the way this looked that I raised my lens, fully extended, right into the eye to get this shot. After slapping about a pint of sand from the body, the trusty Lumix is still only working intermittently.

Later, in the car, Craig reaches over and starts picking at my hair. “I know,” I said. “I am covered in sand.” He is laughing when he tells me he’s removing fully-formed lemon cells from my hair. “They look like maggots,” he teases. “You’re supposed to squeeze the lemon.” Nice.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Nahoon Beach to Bonza Bay

  1. Kelly

    Holy cow, gorgeous beach all to yourself? It’s amazing.

    I can’t figure out what the icon is above the tent. No break dancing during fireworks?

  2. Noelle

    Re: The beach signage… if you’re going to concoct this elaborate ruse about going to South Africa (and drag your poor friend Craig down with you) AND take the time to post a faux blog about it (with pictures you’ve obviously stolen from other places on the web)… then at least make sure the signs you’re taking pictures of don’t give you away.

    You’re in South Africa, Keph? Really?
    Are you sure you’re not just in Buffalo? Maybe you got off the plane in the wrong place.

Leave a Reply

